A Little Love Song

Greetings to all my wonderful readers! I apologize for my absence recently. I haven’t had much time to write or come up with a decent political rant (though I have some in the works, don’t worry!) I did have a little time last Friday to work on some poetry though; this one basically encompasses an entire evening from when I was brainstorming for a new poem to the time I got to bed sometime the next morning. It’s really a lot of fun and it has a lot of references to different songs (Perks if you can pick them out!) because I was writing down random song lyrics when the whole thing started. Enjoy!

A Little Love Song

Here’s my number call me maybe

You’re all I can think of lately

Bored and lonely ’til you show

The day I’d have I couldn’t know.

Your smile melts my heart away

To see your face just makes my day

Your brilliant mind; Your beautiful soul

To be good enough for you’s my goal

But…

Tonight we’re brothers, nothing more

Together explore; I’m not a whore

What’s Taylor know? You look at me

My smile’s real, I want you to see

Come on darling, let’s be frank

Eyes can be stupid, ask ZeFrank.

I wish I knew the perfect mix

To make myself a stellar hit.

The mood is good, our spirits high

The birds are sleeping when Penny dies

But we don’t sleep, we watch the crimes

And even know a couple lines…

Please know my fears for you are real

I’ve seen what happens when you feel

You must be the happy extrovert

Be loved by all just to mask the hurt

…Just saying.

Keep me guessing, my wonderful

But never doubt my heart is full

If ever you need to hug or talk

Or laugh or sing or even walk

Heart tears open, I sew it shut

Far too often, probably. But

I’ll try my best to stay unbroken

So that you never need be lonesome

I’m terribly awkward, but I try

To make you laugh and catch your eye

Please calm down, don’t start a riot

It’s not my fault I don’t like diet.

Do we even have common Breakfast at Tiff’s?

You talk about drops, I talk about riffs…

So many dreams and so many hopes,

If only somebody would show me the ropes.

And even if I’m the girl unobserved

Be the writer, decide my words

And maybe I can be strong enough

To make you and me into an “us.”

From above the street of broken dreams

I see the cup presented to we

From which we took one final draught

Of a little more magic, another laugh

‘Cuz we’re already drunk from 12 hours of it

And it’s hard to be sober and deal with the shit

A broken cup, just one last taste

Like finding love in a hopeless place

And yet…

That song I wrote’s not what I’d say

If I were to sing to you today

So take this poem of other songs

And if you want, please sing along

Life itself’s a strange old rhyme

I guess for now I’ll take my time

Maybe your brother I’m meant to stay,

Still this was truly my best day.

So… Thanks. Bunches. 🙂

Leave a comment